FALL. {Christine’s picks}

I’m a total summer girl at heart. I absolutely love shorts and sundresses but there comes a day I just want to wear my skinny jeans again without sweating through them in 5 minutes.

To me, fall fashion is pretty much the best. With a little bit of layering, I can make several of my favorite summer pieces work in the cooler weather. The right scarves, boots, and jackets can make just about anything into a super cute, put-together fall outfit. And after 20+ years in the midwest, I know layers are the way to dress for cold mornings and hot afternoons. Keep that in mind, and the fact I’m moving to Florida in a couple weeks (YESSS!), when you see some summery items in my fall must-have’s list.

Christine’s Fall Must-Have’s

fallmusthaves_sm

I love the color & texture of this scarf. And if I could have everything on this list, I would totally pair it with the cobalt tee.  As much of a DIYer as I am, let me just say that my at-home attempts haven’t looked nearly as adorable as this scarf.

Cobalt really is this fall’s super hot trend (see Nina’s Cobalt post for more on that). I love how this tee mixes comfy and cute, which makes this a wardrobe necessity.

Does someone want to buy this for me?! I can’t afford it, but omg do I love it. While I carry my hot coral Kate Spade handbag with me everywhere, this bag has a little more space that I could really use, some amazing texture, and is a great neutral that will go well with any season.

Another pricier item but I can’t get over how amazing the collar and asymmetrical zip are. This jacket can basically give you 3 different looks just with how zipped up it is. I also love the lambskin on the interior, which makes it look not only HOT but oh-so-comfy.

You may be wondering how this amazing lace sundress is fall wear, but just visualize this with tall brown boots (#14 ), the asymmetrical zip jacket, and a bold scarf with a long pendant necklace underneath (#11). There you have it, a delicate, feminine and put together fall look!

I feel like the only girl who doesn’t already have a peplum top. I’ve seen women of all different shapes and sizes rocking this style. Are you curvy? Wear this to accentuate your hourglass shape. Are you more of a straight, athletic build? Wear this to create a curvier hourglass. I also love how this top’s stripes make a stronger illusion of the tiny waist.

I already have these jeans in a dark blue wash and I freaking love them. How chic are black jeans?! I am dying to get this pair and mix it with a light chambray top (#12) and neon flats (#10).

This is another example of a summery piece that works perfectly for a layered fall look. I LOVE the color and would definitely pair this with the black skinny jeans (#7), asymmetrical leather jacket (#4), and ankle boots (#17)

This top looks so casual and a little military, but that waist tie gives it a more feminine flair.

I’m dying to get these! That neon mixed with neutral trend is a great way to add a pop of summery color with a cozier fall outfit. A good pair of flats can go with almost anything, too.

This is one of our new creations made by Nina. I might have to snag one of these from her before I move. I love the pounded texture and the warmth of brass. Long necklaces like this look stunning with everything – dresses, tanks, sweaters, jackets, and peeking out from under scarves.

12. Loft Chambray Denim Long and Lean Shirt – $55

Chambray is pretty new to my wardrobe. I have this shirt in a dark chambray that I pair with black pants, colored skirts, white shorts… basically anything but denim. It’s so versatile that I want another one in this lighter wash for a bit more variety.

After scouting this out online and trying it on in the store, I finally bought this (with a 50% off coupon)! This super comfortable dress has a subtle leopard print, a figure flattering waist tie to show an hourglass shape, and long sleeves that easily roll up to the elbows for more versatility. I just wore this the other day with my new knee-high boots (#14) since it’s a shorter dress and I think that is my new favorite outfit.

Brown boots are probably the most important fall staple on my list (along with skinny jeans). The over-the-knee look is a new trend of the season that is everywhere. I wasn’t sure how the over-the-knee look would work on me since I’m only 5’3″ but since they go up to my knee and no higher, it definitely works. Nina was absolutely right in her blog post about boots that the tall, knee high boots will make you feel sexy.A quick note for those in icy/snowy climates – these boots actually do have a decent amount of tread (more than most fashionable styles) which is definitely a plus!

There’s nothing like a good statement necklace to punch up your outfit. This plum purple is so rich and decadent.

I love a good maxi and this one would look adorable with ankle boots (#17) and denim or leather jacket (#4).

True story – I had been searching for the PERFECT ankle boots for over a year. They had to go with dresses, skirts, and jeans. I’m really picky about the comfort of shoes too, especially if a heel is involved. I just bought these at an outlet (with a military discount!) and they are exactly what I was looking for. I think the first day I wore them (with a sweater dress, scarf, & leather jacket) I got 5 compliments.

More cobalt! The color is so intense, just add this to a more neutral outfit (like the beige chiffon blouse, #19) and you’ve got a stunning put together fall look.

This long and flowy top looks like it would go with skinny jeans as well as leggings. Or tuck it in to a skirt. It would need to be layered with a cardigan or jacket and scarf for cooler weather, but a great base to work with. I’d also pair this with the plum statement necklace (#15).

Leave a comment