BOOTS.

It is SOOO incredibly hot here in Enid and getting all of these amazing fall catalogues from Madewell and Anthropologie is really making me ache for some great fall weather.

So that means…. BOOTS! (Plus I just ordered my first pair of cowboy boots and that’s all I can possibly think about right now)

You might not EVER want to own a pair of cowboy boots, but living in Oklahoma basically means that I need them.  Here are my boot staples that I believe everyone should own.

1. Booties— Brown or black.  These are probably my favorite and there are so many styles so there will certainly be a style that is right for almost anyone! (Thinking about that makes me realize that I in fact need more styles to grace the floor of my closet….)

They are also extremely versatile.  I am personally a dress girl, and since I have so many and want to wear them all year, I just put my booties with a sundress and a fabulous blazer.

My new favorite way to wear booties is with a pair of  cuffed skinny or boyfriend jeans.  Luckily for us,  rolling up our jeans just a tiny bit and putting on a heel instantly makes you a fashionista! Ta-DA!!

booties
(From top left clockwise 1. Clarks boots, LOFT Dress 2. Madewell Jeans, Madewell blazer, Forever 21 Booties 3. Francescas Dress, Clarks boots 4. Madewell dress, Clarks boots 5. Madewell scarf, LOFT sweater, Madewell Jeans, Forever 21 Booties)

2. Over the Knee boots – brown or black.  Want to feel super cool and sexy? No? Ok then don’t buy these.  Ok but seriously, buy these. You don’t need to buy the 4 inch snakeskin over the knee boots (please don’t) but get a flat pair or a pair with a small wedge.

The pair I own are suede with a small wedge and they are perfect for the fall and winter.  Put them with black tights and a short dress/ fancy shorts OR wear them over skinny jeans.

I have my eye on these AMAZING frye over the knee boots…. Not that you needed to know that, but my mind is wandering…. Like it does when I start thinking about nachos…. Mmmm nachos…..

overtheknee

(From left to right: 1. Niloulu necklace, Steve Madden boots 2. Niloulu necklace, LOFT shirtdress 3. Anthropologie scarf, Madewell Blazer, Free People dress)

3.   Riding Boots—I would definitely say brown, but if you think you can pull off the  black, go ahead.

These are a little more tricky.  Of course you can wear them with skinny jeans (yeah skinny jeans are the greatest…. But that’s for another day) but you have to be more careful about what else you wear with them.  I  see a lot of women wear them with thick black leggings and a simple tunic (or your man’s button down) and a scarf, but please be careful with this! Make sure if you do this your tunic covers your bum OR just wear your tightest skinny jeans.

You can also wear them with dresses—put them with tights and a dress.  But this is tricky too, you want to make sure that the dress isn’t too long (you could look frumpy) and that the colors make sense together.  I would suggest a simple grey or black dress, with a pattern or not, and a bright colored cardigan or necklace! (In the middle picture I am wearing a simple colored dress with a fun print– and it hits a few inches above my knee)  Think SIMPLE staple pieces and fabulous accessories—there is so much you can do with a great dress. I’m just sayin.

riding

(From left to right: 1. Niloulu tassel necklace, LOFT sweater, Madewell Jeans, Clarks boots 2. Niloulu Cobalt statement necklace, Madewell dress 3. Free People top, Madewell Jeans)

With any boot you really want to study your own legs and learn which areas you want to highlight.  Like with any clothes, you want to make sure you highlight the thinnest part of your body.  For example, even though I love my muscular runners calves, if the top of my boots end where my calf muscles begin, it will cut my legs off and make my legs look chunky.  BUT if I wear short booties,  they will  highlight my slender ankles, and with a heel will bring out my muscle definition.   This is why over the knee boots are so awesome, they go up to the part of your leg that is the thinnest—right above your knee (which is also the most flattering length for a dress).  Everyone will have different leg shapes, so do your research and learn what looks best on you… and when you find that perfect boot(s) haha, buy it in every color…. You can thank me later.

A great way to start is to buy a cheap pair somewhere, in a style you want to try but don’t want to break the bank, and see how you like them.  Then, after you get enough compliments (mostly kidding) buy the more expensive version that will last.

Ok and last but not least, COWBOY BOOTS!!! Just because they were my inspirations for this post.

cowboy

(Clockwise from top left: 1. Free People dress, Lucchese Boots 2. Niloulu White Statement necklace, Madewell peplum top, Madewell jean shorts 3. American Eagle dress, Niloulu triangle necklace4. Free people dress, Niloulu triangle necklace 5. LOFT wrap dress, Niloulu triangle necklace)
4 thoughts on “BOOTS.

  1. Pingback: HOME | moshoes4me

  2. Pingback: Boots and Scarf for Fall | Tall, Sexy and Curvy

Leave a Reply

